Movies I didn’t think were as shitty as Rotten Tomatoes said they were: I Am Number Four (2011)

I Am Number Four was not as shitty as Rotten Tomatoes says it is. As it stands, the movie has a 30% rating on the site’s Tomatometer, which is pretty damn low. Now granted, the film is cliched and sappy at times, but the action is well executed, and the tone is better than most young adult fiction books turned blockbuster films. The basic plot is that a teenaged alien is hiding out on earth in a small town in Ohio with his protector from an evil race called the Mogadorians. They destroyed the kid’s home planet and now must kill the 8  people that remain who fled to Earth. The first 3 are dead, and he is number 4. I kept asking myself why the hell they had to kill the people in order, but just kept telling myself that the Mogadorians are evil and possibly have OCD. I know, the premise is kinda hokey and played out, and it is, but the film is fairly entertaining and worth the watch. After the success of the Twilight series, studio execs were clamoring for teen love stories with a twist. Having spent 7 weeks at #1 on the children’s chapter of the New York Times Best Seller list, I Am Number Four was next in line for a Hollywood makeover.This thought process will be put into action again in the near future as the Hunger Games series prepares for a multi-million dollar 4 film series. Overall I felt that I Am Number Four was well paced and only lame enough so that it wasn’t distracting to the film. The acting is over the top and outright bad at times, but the action and moments of suspense make it redeemable. In my opinion, I Am Number Four is not number two, even if Rotten Tomatoes says it is

Check out these movies that have the highest differential on Rotten Tomatoes between critics’ ratings and audience rating.

by Alex Prouhet

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment